Women's Track & Field takes part in second meet of season

Women's Track & Field takes part in second meet of season

KENOSHA, Wis. - The Concordia University Wisconsin Women's Track & Field team competed in its second meet of the season Friday, taking part in the Tadd Metzger Invitational hosted by Carthage College.

The Falcons gained some strong performances, gaining several personal-best times and distances throughout the day. CUW earned an eighth-place finish at the event, which was won by UW-Stevens Point.

Freshman Colleen Sauvey (De Pere, Wis. - pictured) had a big meet with a PR in both the 55-meter dash and the weight toss, showcasing her versatility on both the track and in field events. Sauvey recorded a time of 8.19 seconds in the 55-meter dash and had a throw of 11.71 meters in the weight toss.

On the track, senior Jessica Hennig (Springfield, Ill.) finished sixth in the 600-meter run with a PR time of 1:45.52. Freshman Kaitlin Dobson (Milwaukee, Wis.) had a huge ten second PR in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:41.75, while freshman Meagan Rummage (Turkey) also shed 10 seconds off her best mile time with a 5:57.98.

In the throws CUW was led by junior Andrea Kassees (Waukesha, Wis.) as she threw a PR of 12.97 meters in the weight throw for a 10th-place finish. Other PRs in the throwing events included freshman Nicole Gloede (Bonduel, Wis.) in the shot put and weight throw (8.0 & 9.03 meters) and junior Mary Heinz (Clintonville, Wis.) in the shot put (9.5 meters).

The women's 4x400-meter "A" squad ran together for the first time this weekend with Hennig, freshman Lindsey Fratzke (Winona, Minn.), senior Kristin Sitte (Greenfield, Wis.) and junior Emily Mauermann (Janesville, Wis.) as the team members. The relay unit started off strong and held their ground in the middle of the pack until Mauermann anchored the team by passing the other two squads ahead of her on the last lap for the win in their heat.

CUW will return to action next weekend, competing at the Keck Invitational on Saturday. The meet will be hosted by Illinois Wesleyan and is scheduled to begin 11:00 a.m.