Skip to navigation Skip to content

Straehler leads five Women’s Soccer all-conference honorees

Straehler leads five Women’s Soccer all-conference honorees
2011 All-Northern Athleitcs Conference Women's Soccer Awards

WAUKESHA, Wis. - Junior midfielder Lauren Straehler was one of five Concordia University Wisconsin women's soccer players to earn All-Northern Athletics Conference honors, the league office announced Wednesday afternoon.

Straehler (Pewaukee, Wis.) earned her second-straight All-NAC First Team accolade after leading the Falcons with 15 goals, which ranked tied for fourth in the conference.

CUW earned three spots on the league's Second Team - sophomore defender Ashley Apazeller (Jackson, Wis.), senior midfielder Kelli Wittenberg (Sturtevant, Wis.) and sophomore forward Hannah Brehmer (Eagle River, Alaska).

Freshman Christine Teasdale (Edina, Minn.) was the lone representative on the All-Freshman Team, while Wittenberg epitomized the Falcons on the All-Sportsmanship team.

CUW concluded its season with a heartbreaking 1-0 defeat to MSOE in the quarterfinals of the conference tournament. The Falcons ended the 2011 season with a 10-7-1 overall record and a 9-3-0 league record.

2011 All-Northern Athletics Conference Women's Soccer Awards
Offensive Player of the Year: Jessica Axt, MSOE
Defensive Player of the Year: Anya Vincenti, Aurora University
Freshman of the Year: Nicoel Wolfe, Aurora University
Coach of the Year: Jason Murphy, Marian University

First Team
Junior midfielder Lauren Straehler (Pewaukee, Wis.)

Second Team
Sophomore defender Ashley Apazeller (Jackson, Wis.)
Senior midfielder Kelli Wittenberg (Sturtevant, Wis.)
Sophomore forward Hannah Brehmer (Eagle River, Alaska)

Freshman defender Christine Teasdale (Edina, Minn.)

Senior midfielder Kelli Wittenberg (Sturtevant, Wis.)