Heckendorf named to All-MWLC Second Team

Heckendorf named to All-MWLC Second Team

NAPERVILLE, Ill. – Concordia University Wisconsin sophomore Emily Heckendorf earned All-Midwest Women's Lacrosse Conference Second Team honors, the league office announced Monday afternoon.

The Merrill, Wis., native helped the Falcons to their first-ever MWLC Tournament bid after putting together a 5-3 league mark. Heckendorf also helped CUW to a program-record seven victories, including a pair of back-to-back wins.

The 5-foot-4 midfielder ranks first on the team with 19 goals and second in points (19 goals, 4 assists). Heckendorf is also second on the team in ground balls (36) and draw control wins (29), and third in free-position goals (2) and caused turnovers (14).

She set single game career-highs this season in goals, ground balls, draw control wins, man-up goals, free-position goals and caused turnovers. Her impressive season has moved her into first place all-time in program history for ground balls (62) and draw control wins (62).

Heckendorf is the second women's lacrosse player to earn All-MWLC honors after Sammi Reiter (sophomore, Stillwater, Minn.) was named MWLC Newcomer of the Year and First Team for the 2012 season.

MWLC Coach of the Year
Sara Tisdale - Augustana

MWLC Offensive Player of the Year
Lauren Chatham - Carthage

MWLC Defensive Player of the Year
Gina Fisher - North Central

MWLC Rookie of the Year
Kendall Maduro - Augustana

First Team
Ali Gorman, Carthage College,  GK
Lauren Chatham, Carthage College,  A
Danielle Fiala, North Central College, A
Christina Letmanski, Augustana College, A
Rachael Houp, North Central College, D
Oivia Nino, Carthage College, D
Emily Pavlik, Augustana College, D
Stephanie Spencer,  Carthage College, D
Gina Fisher, North Central College, M
Sara Fithian, Beloit College, M
Kendall Maduro, Augustana College, M
Andrea Wambaugh, Carthage College, M

Second Team
Paige Apel, College of Mount St. Joseph, GK
Chrissy O'Hara, College of Mount St. Joseph, A
Emily Handrahan, Augustana College, A
Jacqui Morgan, North Central College, A
Sydney Whitaker, Carthage College, A
Ellie Daniels, Beloit College, D
Anna Kyllo, Augustana College, D
Erica Walsh, College of Mount St. Joseph, D
Morgan Weinstock, Carthage College, D
Emily Heckendorf, Concordia University Wisconsin, M
Kaylee Nolan Augustana M
Claire Norfleet, North Central College, M