Skip to navigation Skip to content

NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Tournament bracket announced

NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Tournament bracket announced

2013 NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Tournament Bracket

Pairings for the NCAA Division III 2013 Men's Tennis Tournament were announced on Monday afternoon and Concordia University Wisconsin will compete against Ohio Northern University on Friday, May 10.

The Falcons and Polar Bears will play in Whitewater, Wis., on the campus of UW-Whitewater. A start time for the match has yet to be announced. The winner of the match will advance and play against Trinity University (Texas) on Saturday, May 11.

ONU (18-4) clinched an automatic bid to the national tournament after winning the Ohio Athletic Conference Tournament. The Polar Bears won the OAC regular season with an undefeated 9-0 record and has won their last 16 matches.

ONU is led by head coach Bob Rohan who in his fifth season and has led the program to three conference championships. Joey Frank, Do Thai, Josh Saunders, John Mostowy and Blake Troller have all won double-digit matches at their respective flights. The Polar Bears also have three doubles pairs with double-figure wins, including Mostowy/Saunders who are undefeated in dual matches.

CUW (16-9) won its third-consecutive Northern Athletics Conference title with a pair of 5-0 victories this past Saturday. The Falcons have won eight-straight matches and 13 of the last 14 matches. Leading the program is head coach Tom Weber who is in his 15th season.

NAC Player of the Year Russell Johnson (junior, Monticello, Wis.) leads the team with a 20-6 individual record, including a 17-4 mark at No. 1 singles. Five other Falcons have won double-digit matches this season.

The doubles pairing of senior Taylor Shaffer (Stoughton, Wis.) and junior Skip Turner (Eau Claire, Wis.) lead the team with 15 wins. The combination of Johnson and freshman Terry Jones (Maywood, Ill.) are also 13-2 overall in doubles play.