Pope named State Defensive Player of the Year

Pope named State Defensive Player of the Year

Concordia University Wisconsin senior defender Jacob Pope was a dominant player on the pitch all season long. Those who watched Pope play saw a student-athlete who stood out above the rest, and his postseason accolades certainly showcase just how great Pope was in 2013.

The senior was once again awarded for his excellence on the soccer field on Tuesday as he was named the Wisconsin Defensive Player of the Year. In addition to being named the Defensive Player of the Year, Pope also was chosen to the 2013 All-Wisconsin State Team, being just one of four players from the Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference named to the first team.

Pope (Muskego, Wis.) was named as an All-Region pick on Monday and also was named the NACC Defensive Player of the Year in early November. The only award left for Pope to possibly garner is an All-American selection, which he has a chance for after being named to the First Team All-Region.

Pope had seven points this season, all coming on assists as he tied for the team lead. He also played a big role in the Falcons gaining 10 wins and posting eight shutouts. He finished his career with 42 points (15 goals, 12 assists) and showed his versatility by playing forward, midfielder and defense over his four years.

Three other Falcons were honored by the state on Tuesday as junior Paul Stuebs (Neenah, Wis.) was named to the second team, while junior Diego Campos (Milwaukee, Wis.) and sophomore Keegan Van Dusseldorp (Burlington, Wis.) were honorable mention selections.

Stuebs played an outstanding midfield for CUW and was a big part of their defensive game plan. He finished the year with one goal in a match against Dominican University. He played in all 20 games for CUW this fall.

Campos totaled 13 points despite missing five games due to injury. The junior had three goals and tied with Pope for the team lead with seven assists. Van Dusseldorp led the Falcons with 10 goals and 22 points, including scoring the game-winner four times. Stuebs, Campos and Van Dusseldorp were all Second Team All-NACC selections.

2013 All-Wisconsin State Team
Co-Players of the Year: Tony Starnes (UW-Oshkosh) and Logan Andryk (MSOE)
Offensive Player of the Year: Michael Dombrowski (Carthage)
Defensive Player of the Year: Jacob Pope (Concordia Wisconsin)
Sportsman of the Year: Ryan Redmond (UW-Oshkosh)
Coach of the Year: Joe Mooney (UW-Superior)

1st Team
K Garrett Farin Milwaukee School of Engineering Jr Madison, Wis.
D Connor Behnke Carroll University Jr Hartford, Wis.
D Karl Bock University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh So Oregon, Wis.
D Mark Gore*** Carroll University Sr Chesterton, Ind.
D Jacob Pope*** Concordia University Wisconsin Sr Muskego, Wis.
M Ryan Crane Carthage College Jr Hawthorn Woods, Ill.
M Nate Engel** University of Wisconsin-Superior Sr Maple Grove, Wis.
M Patrick Gathof* Milwaukee School of Engineering Sr Beloit, Wis.
M John Gottwald University of Wisconsin Whitewater Jr South Milwaukee, Wis.
M/F Logan Andryk* Milwaukee School of Engineering So Harland, Wis.
F Michael Dombrowski*** Carthage College Jr Johnsburg, Ill.
F Brian Grand University of Wisconsin-Superior Jr North Branch, Minn.
F Jan Nachtigal University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Fr Giessen, Germany
F Tony Starnes*('10) University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Sr Green Bay, Wis.

2nd Team 
K Ian Christensen** University of Wisconsin-Platteville Sr Oregon, Wis.
D Atli Einarsson Carthage College Jr Chanhassen, Minn.
D Stephen Gilbert Edgewood College Jr Fitchburg, Wis.
D Chris Kurth University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Sr Green Bay, Wis.
D Bradley Streich University of Wisconsin-Platteville Jr De Pere, Wis.
M Ryan Redmond* University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Sr Lake Elmo, Minn.
M Arnoldo Reyes Carthage College Jr Northlake, Ill.
M Bob Shone* University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Sr St. Charles, Ill.
M Paul Stuebs Concordia University Wisconsin Jr Neenah, Wis.
M/F Austin Drake* Wisconsin Lutheran College So East Troy, Wis.
F Kirby Allen University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Jr Appleton, Wis.
F Dan Czernicki Carroll University Jr Muskego, Wis.
F David Reinke Marian University Sr San Jose, Calif.
F Ben Royce* University of Wisconsin-Superior Jr Inver Grove Hts., Minn.

Honorable Mention
K Matt Elder University of Wisconsin-Superior Jr New Hope, Minn.
D Nate Felhofer St. Norbert's College Sr Sturgeon Bay, Wis.
D Matt Kelley University of Wisconsin-Superior Sr Maple Grove, Minn.
D Ryan Reid University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Jr Rockton, Ill.
D Stephen Salansky* Lawrence University Jr Parker, Colo.
M Diego Campos* Concordia University Wisconsin Jr Milwaukee, Wis.
M Sam Novak* University of Wisconsin-Whitewater So Milton, Wis.
M Kirill Vasilenko St. Norbert's College Sr De Pere, Wis.
M/F Mbodje Sarr University of Wisconsin-Platteville Jr Madison, Wis.
F Andrew Aurit Edgewood College Sr Monroe, Wis.
F Farouk Dadzie Lakeland College Sr Milwaukee, Wis.
F Spencer Reisbick Ripon College Sr Westminster, Colo.
F Keegan VanDusseldorp Concordia University Wisconsin So Burlington, Wis.
F Nate Wasser Wisconsin Lutheran College So Lake Geneva, Wis.