Skip to navigation Skip to content

Nine Falcons named to NFCHA National Academic Squad

Nine Falcons named to NFCHA National Academic Squad

GILBERT, Ariz. – The National Field Hockey Coaches Association named nine Falcons to the 2018 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division II National Academic Squad on Wednesday afternoon.

"I am very proud of this team," said head coach Samantha Landis-Schoessow. "I am proud of their commitment they have made to our program and to their academics. It is great to see their hard work pay off on the field and in the classroom."

In total, 1,746 student-athletes from 147 Division III institutions earned recognition in 2018.

The Division III National Academic Squad program honors student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of the 2018-19 academic year.

For CUW, freshman Ellie Basting (Jackson, Wis.), junior Brianna Buehler (Hartland, Wis.), sophomore Courtney Englund (Germantown, Wis.), junior Kelsey Fulton (Sussex, Wis.), junior Rachel Larson (St. Louis, Mo.), junior Abigail Martin (Saline, Mich.), sophomore Callie Neumann (Dousman, Wis.), junior Sophia O'Connor (Manchester, Mich.) and freshman Gabrielle Poole (Rindge, N.H.) all claimed the honor.

This is the third-straight year that Buehler, Fulton, Larson, Martin and O'Connor has received the honor. Neumann is earning the accolade for the second time.

The nine student-athletes to receive the title are the most in program history.

For the complete list of honorees, click here.


Field Hockey Sinks Hendrix
October 21, 2018 Field Hockey Sinks Hendrix
Field Hockey Falls at Rhodes
October 20, 2018 Field Hockey Falls at Rhodes