Skip to navigation Skip to content

Acrobatics and Tumbling shines at NCATA Championship

Acrobatics and Tumbling shines at NCATA Championship

WACO, Texas – The CUW acrobatics and tumbling team posted a strong outing at the 2019 NCATA National Championship. The Falcons were the first NCAA Division III school to send multiple heats to the championship. The Falcons competed in all three pyramid heats, after earning at-large bids.

"Having the opportunity to represent Concordia and NCAA Division III at event nationals was absolutely phenomenal," said head coach Sarah Koenig. "We talk a lot about what it means to be a part of this sport during its growth and how important it is to represent all the aspects that go along with that. Being able to take a team like this to that level is a blessing and we are so excited that they were able to experience what it's like to compete on the national stage. Looking forward to next year we know the drive to return will be stronger than ever and we are excited to see what comes next."

The highest Falcon finish of the day came in the open pyramid in fourth place. The team of freshman Abby Pierce (Antioch, Ill.), senior Jordan Ireland (Bennett, Colo.), senior Jofflyn Zaremba (Winneconne, Wis.), senior Anna Smith (Marengo, Ill.) and sophomore Lindsey Leonhard (Sheboygan, Wis.) finished the heat with a score of 9.775 points. The Ducks of Oregon won the title with a score of 9.925 points.

The fourth-place finish and the 9.775 score are the highest in CUW program history at the NCATA Championship.

In the synchronized pyramid, the Falcons finished with a sixth-place finish. The team of Abby Pierce, Jordan Ireland, freshman Samantha Hoolerbek (Belvidere, Ill.), Anna Smith, senior Tristiana March (Janesville, Wis.), senior Alyssa Ellis (Rhinelander, Wis.), freshman Kara Skevis (Lockport, Ill.), Jofflyn Zaremba, senior Kyra Kidd (West Bend, Wis.) and Lindsey Leonhard recorded a score of 9.125 points. Oregon claimed the crown with a score of 9.875 points.

The team of Alyssa Ellis, Anna Smith, sophomore Katelyn Mirasola (Sussex, Wis.), Jofflyn Zaremba, Jordan Ireland and Lindsey Leonhard placed seventh in the inversion pyramid at 9.325 points. Baylor won with a score of 9.95 points.

2019 marked the second-straight year that the Falcons sent individuals to the NCATA National Championship, with the open pyramid competing in 2018.

Baylor won its fifth-straight national title on Saturday.