Skip to navigation Skip to content

ACHA Hockey to join the NCHL in 2018-19

ACHA Hockey to join the NCHL in 2018-19

The Concordia University Wisconsin ACHA DII Men's Hockey Team will be joining the Northern Collegiate Hockey League for the 2018-19 season, the league announced Wednesday.

The Falcons, who are in their first season as an ACHA program in 2017-18, will become the 10th team in the league. CUW will join Aurora, DePaul, Marian, UW-Oshkosh, St. Mary's (Minnesota), Marquette, Robert Morris, Lewis, and Northern Michigan.

The Falcons were in search of a top-notch ACHA conference to join next season and found the perfect partner in the NCHL. In addition, with CUW joining as a 10th member, the league will be able to get back to its roots of providing a top-level conference schedule. The current plan is for the league to break into two divisions to help reduce the amount of travel and costs to each team.

Currently, with nine teams the NCHL teams compete for a spot in the six-team end of season tournament, with the winner being awarded the Philip E Schroeder Memorial Trophy, also known as the "Hap Cup."

A release from the NCHL on its newest member can be found here.