Men's Hockey announces 2013-14 awards at postseason banquet

Men's Hockey announces 2013-14 awards at postseason banquet

MILWAUKEE – The Concordia University Wisconsin Men's Hockey team celebrated its 2013-14 season on Saturday, April 12, with a postseason banquet at the BMO Harris Bradley Center. The Falcons also announced the award winners for the season at the banquet.

Sophomore Devin Stuermer (Milwaukee, Wis.) won Team MVP honors for the second straight season after leading the Falcons in points. Stuermer scored 25 points, which was the second most in program history. He scored 12 goals and added 13 assists and posted a program-record eight-game point streak midway through the season.

The Falcons also announced team captains for the 2014-15 campaign. Sophomore Buster Hebda (Firestone, Colo.) will once again serve as the captain next year with sophomore Eli Riddle (Blissfield, Mich.) and junior Matt Gates (Palatine, Ill.) named assistant captains.

Freshmen Tanner Bull (Brooklin, Ontario) and Brett Penner (Medstead, Saskatchewan) were named the Co-Rookies of the Year. Bull played in all 27 games and finished the season with 13 points, while Penner set a CUW freshman record with 24 points in his rookie campaign.

Bull also won the team's NAILS Player of the Year, an award given to someone who sacrifices his body for the betterment of the team.

Three players were named as Defensive Players of the Year in senior Brandon Bayer (Milwaukee, Wis.) and sophomores Trammell Lynes (Edmonton, Alberta) Domingo Torrenueva (Oshawa, Ontario). Bayer finished an outstanding career with CUW, playing in 24 games this season and scoring 12 points.. Torrenueva won seven games between the pipes, while Lynes saw action in 24 games, scoring seven points.

The Most Improved Player went to freshman Kyle Fink (Milwaukee, Wis.). Fink started the season on the junior varsity roster but never looked back once promoted to the varsity squad in December. One of his first games was a three-point effort at Finlandia University.

For the second straight season sophomore Lawrence Childs (Silver Springs, Md.) won the Community Service Award. Childs did so by being dedicated to helping others and volunteering in the community, while also being active with on-campus organizations.

Hebda was the recipient of the Team Player Award which is given to the player who puts the team first with every decision he makes. Lynes was awarded the Academic Achievement Award for the second straight season after posting an impressive 3.93 GPA.

The Falcons also gave out the 14 NCHA All-Academic Awards, which was the most any team received in the conference.

The JV team also handed out two awards at the postseason event with Nick Kunes winning the All Heart Award and Mitch Klopp earning the Most Improved Player.