Football receives 16 individual NAC postseason honors

WAUKESHA, Wis. – Concordia University Wisconsin had 16 players recognized for their performance during the 2012 football season by the Northern Athletics Conference, the league office announced Friday.

The Falcons had five players receive All-NAC First Team recognition. Sophomore wide receiver Garrett Wenzelburger (Hartland, Wis.), junior offensive lineman Sean Jones (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.), senior linebacker Matt Upson (New Berlin, Wis.), junior defensive back John Palese (West Bend, Wis.) and junior returner Joe Paul (West Bend, Wis.).

Sophomore quarterback Austin Damaschke (Bristol, Wis.) led a group of seven players on the All-NAC Second Team. Senior wide receiver Erik West (Plymouth, Wis.), junior offensive lineman Wil Goodman (Waukesha, Wis.), senior defensive lineman Matt Lechler (New Holstein, Wis.), sophomore defensive lineman Uzziel McDermit (Kansasville, Wis.), senior linebacker Anthony Hoitink (Sheboygan, Wis.), senior defensive back Ryan Schwartzberg (Weston, Fla.) and sophomore punter Hunter Breunig (Lodi, Wis.) all received honors for their play on the field.

Student-athletes receiving All-NAC Honorable Mention accolades were junior wide receiver Cody Johnson (Brookfield, Wis.) junior wide receiver James Saunders (Riverview, Fla.) and sophomore kicker David Gonzalez (Pembroke Pines, Fla.).

CUW ended the season with a 7-3 overall record, the most wins in head coach Greg Etter's tenure, and a 6-1 NAC record for sole possession of second place.

2012 Northern Athletics Conference Football Awards
Defensive Player of the Year: Ben Lockton, Benedictine
Offensive Player of the Year: Jake Koehler, Concordia Chicago
Freshman of the Year: Michael Beasley-Hart, Aurora
Coach of the Year: Lonnie Pries, Concordia Chicago

First Team All-Northern Athletics Conference Offense
QB – Jake Koehler, Concordia University Chicago, Sr., Belvidere, Ill.
RB – John Borsellino, Benedictine University, Sr., Oak Brook, Ill.
RB – Andrew Maddox, Concordia University Chicago, Jr., Gainesville, Fla.
RB – Brandon Trujillo, Aurora University, Sr., Murrieta, Calif.
WR – Josh Stodola, Wisconsin Lutheran College, Sr., Denmark, Wis.
WR – Jamal Thomas, Concordia University Chicago, Sr., Weirsdale, Fla.
WR – Garrett Wenzelburger, Concordia University Wisconsin, So., Hartland, Wis.
TE – Dane Kirk, Rockford College, So., Rochelle, Ill.
TE – Ryan Mizgate, Aurora University, Sr., Lansing, Ill.
OL – Chris Brune, Concordia University Chicago, Sr., Fort Wayne, Ind.
OL – Pat Harrington, Wisconsin Lutheran College, Sr., Port St. Lucie, Fla.
OL – Doug Ingold, Aurora University, Sr., Elgin, Ill.
OL – Sean Jones, Concordia University Wisconsin, Jr., Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
OL – Anthony Pennella, Concordia University Chicago, Sr. Elmhurst, Ill.

First Team All-Northern Athletics Conference Defense
DL – Marty Beckman Concordia Chicago DL Sr. Parma, Ohio
DL – Sam Boyd Wisconsin Lutheran DL So. Delray Beach, Fla.
DL – Jerome Christmas Aurora DL Sr. Highland Park, Ill.
DL – Ben Lockton Benedictine DL Sr. Grand Rapids, Mich.
LB – Chris Buonavolanto Benedictine LB Sr. Medinah, Ill.
LB – Ethan Lane Maranatha LB Sr. Atlanta, Ga.
LB – Bruce Romagnoli Lakeland LB Sr. Iron Mountain, Mich.
LB – Matt Upson Concordia Wisconsin LB Sr. New Berlin, Wis.
LB – Eric Zeitler Wisconsin Lutheran LB Jr. Waukesha, Wis.
DB – Jason Kramer Wisconsin Lutheran DB Sr. Oconomowoc, Wis.
DB – John Palese Concordia Wisconsin DB Jr. West Bend, Wis.
DB – Matt Rolf Concordia Chicago DB Sr. Rochester, Mich.
DB – L.J. Stolarski Benedictine DB Sr. Waterford, Mich.

First Team All-Northern Athletics Conference Special Teams
K – Danny Colapietro Concordia Chicago K Jr. Chicago, Ill.
P – Brett Youngbeck Wisconsin Lutheran P So. Brown Deer, Wis.
RET – Joe Paul Concordia Wisconsin RET Jr. West Bend, Wis.

Second Team All-Northern Athletics Conference Offense
QB – Austin Damaschke, Concordia University Wisconsin, So., Bristol, Wis.
RB – Matt Botello, Rockford College, Jr., Whittier, Calif.
RB – Mike Reeves, Wisconsin Lutheran College, So., Hoffman Estates, Ill.
WR – Sherman Jones, Concordia University Chicago, Jr., Pensacola, Fla.
WR – Derek Powell, Aurora University, Sr., Colfax, Ill.
WR – Erik West, Concordia University Wisconsin, Sr., Plymouth, Wis.
OL–Moak Brown, Rockford College, Jr., Long Beach, Calif.
OL – Joe Ciha, Lakeland College, Jr., New Franken, Wis.
OL – Luis Fonseca, Maranatha Baptist Bible College, So., Wixom, Wis.
OL – Wil Goodman, Concordia University Wisconsin, Jr., Waukesha, Wis.
OL – Scott Illich, Concordia University Chicago, Jr., Crystal Lake, Ill.

Second Team All-Northern Athletics Conference Defense
DL – Derek Achon, Rockford College, Jr., Welsh, La.
DL – Matt Lechler, Concordia University Wisconsin, Sr., New Holstein, Wis.
DL – Uzziel McDermit, Concordia University Wisconsin, So., Kansasville, Wis.
LB – Brandon Haase, Aurora University, Jr., Minooka, Ill.
LB – Anthony Hoitink, Concordia University Wisconsin, Sr., Sheboygan, Wis.
LB – Seth Swinehart, Rockford College, So., Rockford, Ill.
LB – Mike Theriault, Benedictine University, Sr., Batavia, Ill.
LB – Chris Thompson, Concordia University Chicago, Sr., St. Louis, Mo.
LB – Jim Wheeler, Wisconsin Lutheran College, Sr., Crystal Falls, Mich.
DB – Shaw Corwin, Aurora University, Jr., Yorkville, Ill.
DB – Cody Lemke, Lakeland College, Jr., Kewaskum, Wis.
DB – Tyler Schoen, Wisconsin Lutheran College, Sr., Marion, Wis.
DB – Ryan Schwartzberg, Concordia University Wisconsin, Sr., Weston, Fla.

Second Team All-Northern Athletics Conference Special Teams
K – Fernando Albarran, Aurora University, Jr., Oak Lawn, Ill.
P – Hunter Breunig, Concordia University Wisconsin, So., Lodi, Wis.
RET – Norman Grinstead, Lakeland College, Fr., Taylor, Mich.

Honorable Mention Offense:
John Alessi (RB, Sr., Benedictine University), Jimmy Bevell (QB, Sr., Aurora University), Devan Boling (OL, Sr., Wisconsin Lutheran College), Andy Crivellone (OL, So., Lakeland College), Jeff Dwyer (OL, Fr., Concordia University Chicago), Cody Johnson (WR, Jr., Concordia University Wisconsin), Joe Manion (WR, So., Maranatha Baptist Bible College), James Saunders (WR, Jr., Concordia University Wisconsin), Chris Schultz (WR, Sr., Benedictine University), Sam Spaeth (OL, Jr., Lakeland College), Trent Yancy (WR, Sr., Concordia University Chicago)

Honorable Mention Defense:
Jacob Arnold (DB, Jr., Rockford College), Daniel Debonnett (LB, Sr., Concordia University Chicago), Andrew Gleason (LB, Jr., Concordia University Chicago), Robert Hammack (LB, Sr., Concordia University Chicago), Yaphay Harvey (DB, So., Lakeland College), Ethan Kennon (LB, So., Maranatha Baptist Bible College), Sam Key (DB, Sr., Concordia University Chicago), Bobby O'Brien (DB, Sr., Maranatha Baptist Bible College), Jordan Rabe (DB, Jr., Wisconsin Lutheran College), Tyler Simmons (DL, Jr., Aurora University), Jake Zautner (DL, Sr., Wisconsin Lutheran College)

Honorable Mention Special Teams:
David Gonzalez (K, So., Concordia University Wisconsin), Derek Powell (P, Sr., Aurora University), Trent Yancy (RET, Sr., Concordia University Chicago)